Medicinal Plant Conservation Award

Annual UpS Medicinal Plant Conservation Award

We invite our members to take the opportunity to nominate a person and/or organization doing outstanding work conserving and preserving North American medicinal plants. Projects can be on a grand scale or small, community oriented or individual. Any project, person or organization that has to do with the conservation, preservation and cultivation of native medicinal plants and their habitat will be considered, such as: plant rescue projects, research projects, creating native medicinal plant trails and/or botanical sanctuaries, preserving habitat, or special articles, classes and programs on medicinal plant conservation.

The UpS Medicinal Plant Award will be given annually to a beneficial, inspirational and original project that supports native medicinal plant conservation. One need not be a UpS member to enter or receive the award. Current UpS Board Members, Advisory Board Members and/or employees of UpS are not eligible.

The UpS Medicinal Plant Conservation Award will be granted to an individual or group based on:
1. Benefit: long lasting benefits for medicinal plant conservation
2. Inspiration: inspiring others to become more active in medicinal plant conservation
3. Original idea: unusual or unique efforts will be considered first
4. Focus: on at risk and/or native medicinal plants

Let us know of anyone (including yourself) who is doing something outstanding to help at risk native medicinal plants and who you would like to nominate for the Award. Send a one to two page report to the UpS office in Rutland, OH describing your nomination. It would be helpful to include additional information such as a brochure, report about the project or website if applicable. Include contact information so we can notify them directly if they are selected.

The Recipient will be recognized in the UpS Journal and website, receive a Medicinal Plant Conservation Award, free tuition to a UpS symposium or event and a one-year honorary membership to United Plant Savers.

Penelope Beaudrow

Howie Brounstein

Juliet Blankespoor

Laurie Quesinberry

Marc Williams

Leigh Wai Do

Lisa Castle

Mark Hanson

Jeanine Davis

Celle Rikwerda

Kate & Dan Rakosky

Robert Eidus

Phyllis Hogan

Gigi Stafne

Monica Skye

Kathleen Maier