Medicinal Plant Conservation Award

We invite you to take the opportunity each year to nominate a person and/or organization doing outstanding work conserving and preserving North American medicinal plants. Projects can be on a grand scale or small, community-oriented or individual. Any project, person or organization that has to do with the conservation, preservation and cultivation of native medicinal plants and their habitat will be considered, such as plant rescue projects, research projects, creating native medicinal plant trails and/or botanical sanctuaries, preserving habitat, or special articles, classes and programs on medicinal plant conservation.

The UpS Medicinal Plant Award will be given annually to a beneficial, inspirational and original project that supports native medicinal plant conservation. One need not be a United Plant Savers member to receive the award. Current UpS Board Members, Advisory Board Members and/or employees of UpS are not eligible.

The UpS Medicinal Plant Conservation Award will be granted to an individual or group based on:

1. Benefit: long-lasting benefits for medicinal plant conservation
2. Inspiration: inspiring others to become more active in medicinal plant conservation
3. Original idea: unusual or unique efforts will be considered first
4. Focus: on at-risk and/or native medicinal plants

Let us know of anyone (including yourself) who is doing something outstanding to help at-risk native medicinal plants and who you would like to nominate for the Award. Send a one to two-page report to the UpS office in Rutland, OH describing your nomination. It would be helpful to include additional information such as a brochure, report about the project or website if applicable. Include contact information so we can notify them directly if they are selected.

The Recipient will be recognized in the UpS Journal and website, receive a Medicinal Plant Conservation Award, free tuition to a UpS symposium or event, and a one-year honorary membership to United Plant Savers.

Past Recipients

[su_row][su_column size=”1/3″ center=”no” class=”mpcawinner”]
Hope Taft, 2023

Rose Ramirez &
Deborah Small
, 2022

Penelope Beaudrow, 2021

Howie Brounstein, 2020

Juliet Blankespoor, 2019

Laurie Quesinberry, 2017

[/su_column] [su_column size=”1/3″ center=”no” class=”mpcawinner”]
Marc Williams, 2016

Leigh Wai Do, 2015

Lisa Castle, 2014

Mark Hanson, 2013

Jeanine Davis, 2012

Celle Rikwerda, 2011

[/su_column] [su_column size=”1/3″ center=”no” class=”mpcawinner”]
Kate & Dan Rakosky,2010

Robert Eidus, 2009

Phyllis Hogan, 2008

Gigi Stafne, 2007

Monica Skye, 2006

Kathleen Maier, 2005

[/su_column] [/su_row]

Related Posts

2010 Medicinal Plant Conservation Award Winner: Sagewood Herb Farm Botanical Sanctuary

2010 Medicinal Plant Conservation Award has been awarded to Kate and Dan Rakosky of Sagewood Botanical Sanctuary in Kingston, Rhode Island When they first bought their historic home in densely …